The League of Women Voters of Kansas is a grassroots volunteer organization with nine local Leagues across the state. Elected boards consisting of officers and directors govern LWVK and each local League.  The two year terms of state board members are staggered. The LWVK board meets monthly, alternating between conference calls and in-person meetings around the state.

League business meetings, called Councils, convene in even-numbered years. Conventions, more educational and inspirational gatherings, convene in odd-numbered years. Elections take place at both.

Local chapters are members of the state League and state Leagues are members of the national League, The League of Women Voters of the United States.

LWVK Strategic Plan, 2020-2023

In June 2019, the LWVK Board of Directors partnered with the Elevate Agency, based in Wichita, KS, to develop a strategic plan. The plan, presented at the above link, represents the priorities and goals that will guide LWVK’s work over the next two and a half years. This plan provides a blueprint for maintaining focus on LWVK’s primary purposes to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation in government and to act on selected governmental issues, while allowing LWVK to remain nimble and responsive to changing dynamics in local communities and across the state and nation.



Current LWVK Board of Directors


Jacqueline Lightcap (Topeka) – Co-President 2021 – 2023

Martha Pint (Wichita) – Co-President 2021 – 2023

1st Vice-President 2021 – Vacant

2nd Vice-President 2018 – Vacant

Marlene Merrill (Lawrence/Douglas County) – Secretary 2021 – 2023

Sara Funk (Johnson County) – Treasurer 2022 – 2024


Board Members:

Cille King (Lawrence/Douglas County) – Advocacy 2021 – 2023

Jean Lee (Manhattan/Riley County) – Membership 2019 – 2023

Vacant – Development/Fundraising 

Vacant – Social Media

Susan Horst (Johnson County) – Voter Services 2021 – 2023

Jill Quigley (Johnson County) – Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator 2022 – 2024

Janice Walker (Great Bend) – Intra-League Coordinator 2021 – 2023

        Vicki Arnett (Topeka) – Intra-League Co-Coordinator 2022 – 2024

Sharon Aislinger (Wichita) – Archivist 2018 – 2022

Teresa Briggs (Emporia) – PPFM 2021 – 2022

2021-2022 Nominating Committee:

Gwen Elliott (Topeka)

Linda Johnson (Leavenworth)

Diana Tarver (Salina)

Legislative Observer Corps:

Kristen Salmans (Lawrence)

LWVK Bylaws